Emory United Methodist Church, Pittsburgh, PA

This building, formerly the Emory United Methodist Church, sits at the corner of North Highland Avenue and Rippey Street in the East Liberty neighborhood. It was built in 1973 to replace the previous church destroyed by arson in 1971. Designed by Stotz, Hess, MacLachlan and Fosner, now MacLachlan, Cornelius & Filoni. Some stained glass was salvaged from the old building and the bell from the original church sits at ground level. The textured brick facade and wide Romanesque entry give the building an engaging presence on the street. The church has changed hands several times and has been Greater Pittsburgh Christian Temple, Crossroads Church and is now New Day Ministries.

This entry was posted in Pennsylvania, Pittsburgh. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Emory United Methodist Church, Pittsburgh, PA

  1. I was a member of Emory Methodist Church in the 1930’s. I still have my bible presented to by Lula Butler in 1939. I can remember how huge the church was and every Christmas we received a box of candy. I have many good memories of my Sunday School days.

Leave a comment