Following up on our previous post, here is another building that demonstrates Voorhees Walker Foley and Smith’s later stripped-down modern style in brick. The Church of Saint Emeric on 13th Street between Avenues C and D, dates from 1949. Its placement is unique, sitting on a large lot among public housing and the enormous Con Edison power facility to the north. The back of the church can be seen in the image below behind the quonset hut.
At the other corner of the site is a school building, labeled St. Emeric School, now closed and under renovation or demolition. This structure was almost definitely designed by Voorhees Walker Foley Smith as well. There is a little mystery here as this location is given in building records as St. Mary Magdalen Church and School done by Voorhees Walker in 1945, but the signage on the school listing it as Saint Emeric looks original.