Jamaica Savings Bank Moves Across the Street

In my research about mid-century banks in Queens (specifically the Jamaica Savings Bank), I made a trip to the Long Island Division, which keeps the rare books and archives on Queens. And on my travels in downtown Queens I passed this building at 161-01 Jamaica Avenue.

Little did I know it was the central branch of the Jamaica Savings Bank I was on my way to research. This location was developed in 1963-64 and supposedly features some unique murals inside. In fact I also found this in the library archives.

This location is also directly across the street from a beautiful Beaux-Arts building that was a much early headquarters to the Jamaica Savings Bank. It has been largely empty since the bank moved into this more modern building.

 

This entry was posted in New York City, New York State. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

